How I Steam Condition

Thanks to this post from another site, I found an ideal way to achieve nice and moist hair that is resistant to humidity and daily dryness.  I use these items:

Conditioner

Microfiber towel

Conditioner cap

Microwave

Bonnet Dryer

Rubber Gloves

After I cowash, I apply conditioner from root to tip, making sure all the hair is covered.  Then I get a microfiber towel (the one that has a button to hold the towel on the hair) and run hot water over it.  I take the wet towel and put it into a plastic bag.  I put the bag with the towel in it into the microwave for about 60 seconds, making sure I watch it closely.  After the towel has been heated up, I put on my rubber gloves, open the bag, them put the towel around my hair.  I close up the towel and then put a conditoner cap on top of it.  When that’s done, I put on my bonnet dryer and sit under it on med-high heat for 30-60 minutes.  If I want faster results I simply apply another moist hot towel and conditioner cap on top of the original towel and cap.  This makes a kind of a double steaming treatment, and lessens the time I have under the dryer.

After the steaming treat is done, I take of the towels and caps then rinse in lukewarm to cool water.  It is absolutely amazing how soft and moist my hair feels.  I find that if I just put it in a ponytail, my edges stay smooth.  Even in humidity they don’t puff up as much.  When I used to straighten my hair, I noticed that it didn’t puff up.  I have definitely made this a part of my regular regime.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tod on September 21, 2008 at 14:02

    Cool. I’ve got to try this.

    Reply

  2. love your blog! thanks for sharing

    Reply

  3. […] Deep condition after each co-wash/shikakai wash (mixture of protein and moisture) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

