Archive for January 24th, 2010

Bonding Over Natural Hair

Mom and I had a great conversation about being natural.  We didn’t always have much in common as I was growing up, but as I get older and gain more insight about the world, we have more common ground.  She and I have polar opposite views of hair:  I love to DC and baby my afro.  Mom just does the basics.  It’s always been this way, but we do agree on several positive aspects of having natural hair.

  • Not worrying about relaxers!  No-Lye or Lye?  Box or Jar?  Texurize or bone straight?  Oh, it burns (but that’s good, right?)  Now where did I put that neutralizer?
  • Simplicity!  I like to DC, but it’s nice to know that I can just spray water on my hair and add a little leave-in and/or oil and the curls are POPPIN’!  I just love rubbing my hands over my fro.
  • Don’t fear the Raper…uh, I mean the Weather!  We had rain for a week here in the desert so it was of course humid.  Nice not to have to worry that my hairdo is going to revert or fall limp.  My hair is thriving with water.
  • Stronger, healthier hair!  My husband can play with my hair and I’m not hearing “pop, snap, pop” fearing that I’m going to find enough broken hairs that you could mistake for a small animal.
  • Surprise length!  Making people who think that you’re bald-headed with your TWA swallow their own faces when you stretch a curl LOL.

The list could go on.  Of course it varies according to whom you speak.  I can say for myself that for now–natural is where I want to be.  Next stop:  gray hairs (nature’s highlights)!